Understanding Content Strategy through images

Tasked with finding three images/diagrams that represent content strategy I pulled up Google and typed in “content strategy” in the image search. What do I find? A ton of pictures/diagrams to choose from! Not that it’s really a surprise since Google usually finds me a bunch of stuff when I ask politely. After finally narrowing the options down to three I am now ready to figure out what they mean without reading the sites that are meant to explain them. (Actually, I cheated and read them, but only after trying to figure them out first).

Diagram #1: from UX Booth

Variations of the diagram above were the most common I found when looking at all the different images, this is consistent with the diagram in our readings of Halvorson and Rach’s Content Strategy for the Web. I chose to post this one because I thought it did a good job of representing a content strategy, and I liked the colours they used. 🙂 The diagram is clean, simple and easy to follow which wins a thumbs up from me, and I can get a general idea of what I should be accomplishing in each section. My guess is that the purpose of the circle is to show that the process is cyclical and that one project of creating content can lead into the next and the arrows in the centre emphasize that. Woohoo! So I get the circle. My confusion is that, if I follow the circle clockwise, I would think “Manage” should be on the left bottom and “Publish” should be on the right since I’m under the impression management of content comes after its publication. If I’m missing something please let me know because I’m stumped.

Diagram #2: from Andy Betts’s article

CDPR108 content-strategy - Andy Betts

From and article on http://www.koozai.com/ by Andy Betts

Andy’s diagram is really neat, and I really like it….except I have no idea what it’s trying to tell me. After reading his post I gathered it is to represent that there are different experts of an organization (outermost sections) who then collaborate with their expert colleagues (first and second shaded areas) to produce the content i.e. centre of the nucleus. I think the diagram is a great concept but I don’t think it works as a stand alone image, there is just too much going on.

And my personal favourite…

Diagram #3: from Mark Smiciklas

designed by Mark Smiciklas, found on http://visual.ly/content-strategy-burger

designed by Mark Smiciklas, found on http://visual.ly/content-strategy-burger

The content strategy burger!!! Mm, mm, good! Although it’s very simplistic in its explanation I think it gets the point across and can really help me remember what I need for a strategy. Recognize the audience, figure out a theme that suits them, decide on the tone, find/create the content that follows under that theme and tone then place it all on a digital platform. The only thing I feel is missing is the management of the content once the burger is finished. I’m not sure how he could incorporate that into a burger since it’s meant to be gobbled up. I’m hungry for your thoughts?

About ecarter

I am currently pursuing a certificate in public relations and have started this blog as a project for one of my courses. Here I will make an attempt at writing thoughts and ideas about communication/public relation topics proposed by my professor. Hopefully, upon completion of my course, I will be able to have my own topics to comment on through researching current trends in the PR community.

Posted on October 3, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nicely done . . . the hamburger often wins. And frankly I agree with your assessment of the Bett’s diagram. There is no point in creating a visualization if it requires a lengthy post to explain it. Thumbs down on that one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

